Playtime

Choreography by Snorkel Rabbit

The work is inspired by Jacques Tati’s 1967 film “Playtime”.
In its third and final year at the Opéra de Massy, the young company under the direction of Alba Castillo and Bryan Arias were inspired by the poetic and witty monumental film PLAYTIME, which deals with the relationship to modernity and uniformity. In it, Tati transforms Paris into an ultra-modern city full of huge structures and spaces, and the people who inhabit these spaces form a society of materialists and consumers. This is the starting point for the choreographic creation. Now, the piece will be performed at Staatstheater Darmstadt.

Alba Castillo

Born in Valencia, Spain, Alba began her dance career at the age of 17 at the Teatres de la Generalitat Valenciana dance company. In 2007, she joined the Compañia Nacional de Danza 2 under the direction of Nacho Duato. From 2011 to 2020 Alba danced as a soloist with the Basel Ballet in works by the most renowned choreographers. At the same time, Alba began her career as a choreographer in 2012 with the piece “Bipolar Skin”. The work was a finalist at the Hannover International Choreography Competition, won the Audience Award at the Copenhagen International Choreography Competition, and took second prize at the Certamen Internacional de Coreografía Burgos & New York. In 2018, Alba was nominated for the 21st PREMIOS MAX for Performing Arts in Spain and won second prize at the Les Synodales choreography competition in Sens for her choreography “The Breathing Room”. In 2019, Alba won the gold medal and the prize for best choreography at the Beijing International Choreography Competition with the pieces “Before you Land” and “Remember me, like this”, and a choreography prize at the Oltner Tanztage, NEW IDEAS II for her choreography “Before you Land”. Alba now choreographs for a number of international companies. She will be presenting new works in 2020 for the Ballet de l’Opéra National du Rhin and Scapino Ballet Rotterdam, and collaborating in 2021 with Pennsylvania Ballet (USA), Ballet Bremerhaven (Germany), Theater St.Gallen (Switzerland) and Austinmer Dance Theater (Australia).

Bryan Arias

Bryan was born in Ponce, Puerto Rico. At the age of nine he moved to New York, where he was exposed to many styles of urban dance and received his first artistic training at La Guardia High School for Performing Arts. As a dancer, Bryan was involved with Complexions Contemporary Ballet, Netherlands Dance Theater (NDT) and Crystal Pite’s company Kidd Pivot. Throughout his career he has danced in works by renowned choreographers such as Jiří Kylián, Ohad Naharin and Crystal Pite. As a choreographer Bryan won first prize and the audience prize at the 6th Copenhagen International Choreography Competition for his piece “Without notice”, was nominated for the “Protégé award” and the “Rolex Mentor”, received the Princess Grace Choreography Fellowship Award 2017 as well as the Jacobs Pillow Fellowship award 2018/19. In 2020, Bryan received the prestigious German “Der Faust” award for choreography. Bryan choreographs for The Julliard School, Netherlands Dance Theater 2, Hessisches Staatsballett, Scottish Ballet, Tanz Luzern Theater, Ballett Theater Basel, Paul Taylor Company, Charlotte Ballet, Aspen Santa Fe Ballet and Gibney Dance Company. His creations have been presented at the Bolshoi Ballet, the Konzert Theater Bern and the Zürich Ballet.

Credits

Choreography and artistic direction Alba Castillo
Artistic co-direction Bryan Arias
General direction and lights Lukas Marian

With Bo Jacobs, Giusy Fanaro, Valeria Marangelli, Chloé Wanner, Giuliana Sollami, Celia Sandoya

A performance by the Snorkel Rabbit company, in residence at the Opéra de Massy in co-production with the Hessisches Staatsballett as part of the Rhine Main Dance Platform.

The Snorkel Rabbit company is in residence at the Opéra de Massy, with the support of lu Minstère de la Culture – Direction régionale des affaires culturelles d’Île-de-France

Photos

Photos: Jef

Currently there are no upcoming performances of this Program.

Unser Repertoire

Stücke aus den vergangenen Spielzeiten finden Sie hier.

More

Playtime

Choreografie von Snorkel Rabbit

Das Werk ist von Jacques Tatis Film „Playtime“ aus dem Jahr 1967 inspiriert.
In ihrem dritten und letzten Jahr an der Opéra de Massy ließ sich die junge Kompanie unter der Leitung von Alba Castillo und Bryan Arias inspirieren von dem poetischen und witzigen Monumentalfilm PLAYTIME, sich mit dem Verhältnis zur Moderne und zur Uniformierung befasst. Tati verwandelt darin Paris in eine ultramoderne Stadt voller riesiger Strukturen und Räume und die Menschen, die diese Räume bewohnen, bilden eine Gesellschaft von Materialisten und Konsumenten. Dies ist der Ausgangspunkt für die choreografische Kreation. Nun wird das Stück auch am Staatstheater Darmstadt aufgeführt.

Alba Castillo

Alba wurde in Valencia, Spanien, geboren und begann ihre Tanzkarriere im Alter von 17 Jahren in der Teatres de la Generalitat Valenciana dance company. Im Jahr 2007 wurde sie in der Compañia Nacional de Danza 2 unter der Leitung von Nacho Duato engagiert. Von 2011 bis 2020 tanzt Alba als Solistin beim Basler Ballett in Stücken der renommiertesten Choreografen. Parallel dazu beginnt Alba 2012 ihre Karriere als Choreografin mit dem Stück „Bipolar Skin“. Das Werk ist Finalist beim Internationalen Choreografie-Wettbewerb in Hannover, gewinnt den Publikumspreis beim Internationalen Choreografie-Wettbewerb in Kopenhagen und gewinnt den zweiten Preis beim Certamen Internacional de Coreografía Burgos & New York. 2018 wird Alba für die 21. PREMIOS MAX für Bühnenkunst in Spanien nominiert und gewinnt den zweiten Preis beim Choreografie-Wettbewerb Les Synodales de Sens für ihre Choreografie „The Breathing Room“. 2019 gewinnt Alba die Goldmedaille sowie den Preis für die beste Choreografie beim Internationalen Choreografiewettbewerb in Peking mit den Stücken „Before you Land“ und „Remember me, like this“ und einen Choreografiepreis bei den Oltner Tanztagen, NEW IDEAS II für ihre Choreografie „Before you Land“. Alba choreografiert mittlerweile für zahlreiche internationale Kompanien. Sie präsentiert 2020 neue Kreationen für das Ballet de l’Opéra National du Rhin und Scapino Ballet Rotterdam und arbeitet 2021 mit Pennsylvania Ballet (USA), Ballet Bremerhaven (Deutschland), Theater St.Gallen (Schweiz) und Austinmer Dance Theater (Australien) zusammen.

Bryan Arias

Bryan wurde in Ponce, Puerto Rico, geboren. Im Alter von neun Jahren zog er nach New York, wo er mit vielen verschiedenen urbanen Tanzstilen in Berührung kam und an der La Guardia high school for performing arts seinen ersten künstlerischen Unterricht erhielt. Als Tänzer war Bryan beim Complexions Contemporary Ballet, beim Netherlands Dance Theater (NDT) sowie bei Crystal Pite Kidd Pivots Kompanie engagiert. Im Laufe seiner Karriere tanzt er in den Stücken renommierter Choreografen wie Jiří Kylián, Ohad Naharin oder Crystal Pite. Als Choreograf gewann Bryan den ersten Preis und den Publikumspreis beim 6. Internationalen Choreografie-Wettbewerb in Kopenhagen für sein Stück „Without notice“, wurde für den „Protégé award“ und den „Rolex Mentor“ nominiert, erhielt den Princess Grace Choreography Fellowship Award 2017 sowie den Jacobs Pillow Fellowship award 2018/19. Im Jahr 2020 erhielt Bryan den renommierten deutschen Choreografiepreis „Der Faust“. Bryan choreografiert für die Julliard School, das Netherlands Dance Theater 2, das Hessische Staatsballett, das Scottish Ballet, das Tanz Luzern Theater, das Ballett Theater Basel, die Paul Taylor Company, das Charlotte Ballet, das Aspen Santa Fe Ballet und die Gibney Dance Company. Seine Kreationen werden vom Bolschoi Ballett, Konzert Theater Bern sowie dem Zürich Ballett aufgeführt.

Credits

Choreografie und künstlerische Leitung Alba Castillo
Künstlerische Co-Leitung Bryan Arias
General- und Lichtregie Lukas Marian

Mit Bo Jacobs, Giusy Fanaro, Valeria Marangelli, Chloé Wanner, Giuliana Sollami, Celia Sandoya

Eine Vorstellung der Kompanie Snorkel Rabbit, in Residenz an der Opéra de Massy in Koproduktion mit dem Hessischen Staatsballett im Rahmen der Tanzplattform Rhein Main.

Die Kompanie Snorkel Rabbit ist in Residenz an der Opéra de Massy, mit der Unterstützung von lu Minstère de la Culture – Direction régionale des affaires culturelles d’Île-de-France

Fotos

Fotos: Jef

Aktuell gibt es für dieses Programm keine bevorstehenden Termine.

Unser Repertoire

Stücke aus den vergangenen Spielzeiten finden Sie hier.

Mehr dazu